The new online banking of Bank Austria.


The online banking for companies.

olbImgAlt To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account
MegaCard GoGreen-youth account. The free MegaCard GoGreen-youth account for everyone from 10 to 20 years, and receive a welcome gift. To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account

Submissions now being accepted for the 2012 Writing for CEE journalism prize

  • APA and Bank Austria calling to think about Europe for the ninth time.

The 5,000-euro Writing for CEE European journalism prize is up for grabs again in 2012. Journalists from all parts of Europe, including northern and southern Europe, southeastern Europe, Russia and the CIS states, are invited to submit their work for consideration. The pieces should reflect on life in Europe and the countries of Europe and on the hopes, cares and dreams of Europe’s people, and should contribute to closer ties between the countries and to overcoming prejudice.

Journalistic works that were published after 1 August 2011 will be accepted until 31 July 2012. Transcripts of radio and television programmes as well as online articles are also welcome. The winner will be announced and will receive the award at a gala event held in November 2012 in Vienna. The article in the original language, an English translation and the author’s curriculum vitae are required for entry. Additional information and the entry form are available online at www.apa.at/cee-award.

This prize of APA – Austria Presse Agentur and UniCredit Bank Austria is being awarded for the ninth time already, and is not an EU prize or a special prize for topics relating to Central or Central and Eastern Europe. "We expressly invite all European journalists to participate," stressed jury chairman and APA editor-in-chief for foreign affairs Ambros Kindel. He added that while formal requirements do apply to the submissions, there are no restrictions with regards to topic.

In 2011, the prize went to the Slovene journalist and photographer Meta Krese for her reports on the living conditions of the Roma minority in her home country. "A visit to the Roma of Dolenjska" is the title of the critical yet moving piece that appeared in the Slovene edition of National Geographic in March 2011 accompanied by impressive photographs by Arne Hodalic. Laureate Meta Krese works as a journalist for several Slovene newspapers and magazines.

The guest of honour at least year’s award ceremony was long-time German foreign minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher, who talked about the current challenges confronting Europe and his political experiences in connection with the reunification of Europe. Genscher called for the return of the European Union to a union of stability as quickly as possible. He stressed the need for debt caps in the constitutions of the euro countries, and for automatic sanctions in the event of violations. The former German foreign minister noted that many have still not realised that the end of the Cold War ushered in a new world order.

The list of previous Writing for CEE winners consists of the Czech journalist Lubos Palata (2004), the Bulgarian author Diana Ivanova (2005), the Bosnian journalist Sefik Dautbegovic (2006), the Austrian author Martin Leidenfrost (2007), Anna Koktsidou, the radio journalist who was born in Greece and raised in Germany (2008), the Austrian journalist Florian Klenk (2009), Azra Nuhefendic, the Bosniak author living in Italy (2010) and Meta Krese (2011). Prominent guests of honour in past years included the deceased DDR civil rights activist Bärbel Bohley, the former Czech foreign minister Jiri Dienstbier, the former Slovenian president Milan Kucan and, most recently, Hans-Dietrich Genscher.

In addition to the previous year’s laureate, members of the jury, which meets in various constellations, include the Czech communications expert Milan Smid, the Slovakian publicist Michael Berko, the communications advisor Ildiko Füredi-Kolarik, the Polish journalists Igor Janke and Pawel Bravo, the Hungarian radio journalist Julia Varadi, the Bulgarian author Janina Dragostinova, UniCredit Bank Austria’s CEE press officer Tiemon Kiesenhofer and the chairman of the jury, APA’s editor-in-chief for foreign affairs Ambros Kindel.

Submission documents: www.apa.at/cee-award

Enquiries: APA - Austria Presse Agentur, Marketing & Communications
Petra Haller, Tel. +43 (0)1 36060-5710;
E-mail: petra.haller@apa.at

Bank Austria, International Media Relations 
Tiemon Kiesenhofer, Telephone: +43 (0) 50505 - 56036 
E-mail: tiemon.kiesenhofer@unicreditgroup.at

 back to the summary