The new online banking of Bank Austria.


The online banking for companies.

olbImgAlt To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account
MegaCard GoGreen-youth account. The free MegaCard GoGreen-youth account for everyone from 10 to 20 years, and receive a welcome gift. To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account

Hanna Kordik awarded the Horst Knapp Prize 2013

Hanna Kordik, joint head of the Economics section of the newspaper DIE PRESSE, was awarded the prestigious Horst Knapp Prize in a ceremony on Thursday evening. The eulogy was delivered by Ewald Nowotny, Governor of Oesterreichische Nationalbank, in his capacity as chairman of an independent jury. The speaker at the award ceremony was the industrialist Hannes Androsch.

Handing over the prize for outstanding economic journalism at the ceremony, Willibald Cernko, CEO of Bank Austria, explained: “Given the flood of digital information these days, we depend on the selection, analysis and assessment of economic and business news by professional journalists. For every media consumer and citizen who has more than just a superficial interest, it is the ‘icing on the cake’ when journalists offer deeper insights into the relevant interests and decision-making processes – peeps behind the scenes of power so to speak! Today’s award winner Hanna Kordik more than lives up to these expectations! Over the years, she has built up an excellent reputation as an economics journalist who has a profound knowledge of the key players and the economic and political backgrounds in Austria. In her current editorial position, she is also responsible, together with her team, for meeting the exceptional quality standards that one of the leading daily newspapers requires of its economics and business coverage. All this against the background of challenging economic conditions in the media industry. She deserves our praise and respect for this too!”

“With her Saturday column, this year’s award winner knows how to rouse readers’ interest in current economic developments in the spirit of Horst Knapp,” said Professor Ewald Nowotny, praising the award winner in his laudation.

In his speech, the industrialist Hannes Androsch invited guests to consider his thoughts on “How much reform does Austria need as a business location?”.

Hanna Kordik (50) was born in Washington D.C., and due to her father’s job at the World Bank spent her childhood in countries as diverse as the Ivory Coast, Austria, Kenya and the USA. She began her career in journalism in 1986 in the Economics and Business department of KURIER. In early 1988 she completed her economics degree at the University of Vienna and moved to the “Economist” section of the newspaper DIE PRESSE. From 1993 onward she worked for WIRTSCHAFTSWOCHE, before joining the Economics and Business department of the news magazine PROFIL, where she was appointed editor in 2001. In 2005 Hanna Kordik returned to DIE PRESSE, where she has made a name for herself with her Saturday column KORDIKONOMY. Since February 2013 she has been joint head of the Economics and Business section at DIE PRESSE with Gerhard Hofer.
The Horst Knapp Prize has been sponsored annually by Bank Austria since 1996
The Horst Knapp Prize recognises outstanding journalistic achievements that present complex economic issues in a particularly clear, comprehensible manner. The prize is for EUR 6,000 and is awarded to journalists by an independent jury in memory of Professor Horst Knapp, who for many years was the doyen of Austrian economic journalism.
The jury is headed by Ewald Nowotny, Governor of Oesterreichische Nationalbank. The following personalities are members of the jury: Karl Aiginger, head of the Austrian Institute for Economic Research; Margarete Freisinger, a freelance journalist; Martin Halama, corporate spokesman for Bank Austria; Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger, professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business; Andrea Helige, a public relations consultant; Veit Sorger, former president of the Federation of Austrian Industries; Josef Zechner, professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business; and the winner of last year's prize, Volker Obermayr, deputy head of the business desk at ORF Radio.
The Horst Knapp Prize has previously been awarded to: Reinhard Göweil and Waltraud Langer (1996), Georg Wailand (1997) and Regina Forster (“Most Promising” award 1997), Michael Hann (1998), Liselotte Palme (1999), Andreas Schnauder (2000), Walter Sonnleitner (2001), Margarete Freisinger (2002), Richard Wiens (2003), Christine Domforth (2004), Michael Csoklich and Eva Pfisterer (2005), Renate Graber (2006), Helmut Gansterer (2007), Michael Nikbakhsh (2008), Luise Ungerboeck and Franz Schellhorn (2009), Michael Bachner (2010), Dietmar Mascher (2011), and Volker Obermayr (2012).

Enquiries: Bank Austria Media Relations   
            Matthias Raftl, tel. +43 (0) 50505 52809  
 e-mail: matthias.raftl@unicreditgroup.at  

Print-quality photos will be available to download from our website presse.bankaustria.at. Reproduction is free of charge.