The new online banking of Bank Austria.


The online banking for companies.


2009 Horst Knapp Prize goes to Luise Ungerboeck and Franz Schellhorn

Two of the most distinguished daily newspaper journalists in Austria, Luise Ungerboeck and Franz Schellhorn, were conferred with the Horst Knapp Prize for their journalistic achievements over the past year at an awards ceremony yesterday evening. At the ceremony, Willibald Cernko, CEO of Bank Austria, explained: "In light of current developments, we are facing challenges in economic reporting that have seldom been seen before, and the topics we are examining are extremely complex. The two award winners represent precisely the type of dedicated journalism that is in greater demand today than ever before."

The Horst Knapp Prize has been sponsored annually by Bank Austria since 1996 and is awarded to journalists by an independent jury in memory of the long-standing doyen of Austrian economic journalism. The award is for EUR 6,000. The jury was headed this year by Prof. Ewald Nowotny, Governor of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (Austrian central bank). The Horst Knapp Prize recognises outstanding journalistic achievements that present complex economic issues in a particularly clear, comprehensible manner.

Luise Ungerboeck was born in Wiener Neustadt and studied history and political science at the University of Vienna. While studying, she began to work as a freelance journalist for the daily newspaper Der Standard in 1993. From 1994 to 1997, Ungerboeck worked as a journalist for the Austria Press Agency, and in 1997 also for Wirtschaftsblatt. She became a member of the business section of Der Standard's editorial department in 1998, where she is still working.

Franz Schellhorn was born in Salzburg and after graduating from secondary school, he trained to become a banker at the former Creditanstalt. After completing his degree in business studies at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, he finished his academic career in 2004 when he received his PhD from the University of Vienna and the Vienna University of Economics and Business. He began his career in journalism in 1997, working on the editorial staff of the daily newspaper Die Presse. He has been the head of the business editorial department at Die Presse since 2004.

Prominent jury recognises outstanding achievements in economic journalism
The renowned members of the independent jury include Prof. Karl Aiginger, head of the Austrian Institute for Economic Research; Margarete Freisinger, a freelance journalist; Martin Halama, corporate spokesman for Bank Austria; Prof. Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger, professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business; Andrea Helige, a public relations consultant; Veit Sorger, president of the Federation of Austrian Industries; Prof. Josef Zechner, professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, and the winner of last year's prize, Michael Nikbakhsh, head of the business department at the magazine Profil.

The following journalists have been awarded the Horst Knapp Prize in the past: Reinhard Göweil and Waltraud Langer (1996), Georg Wailand (1997) and Regina Forster (sponsorship award 1997), Michael Hann (1998), Liselotte Palme (1999), Andreas Schnauder (2000), Walter Sonnleitner (2001), Margarete Freisinger (2002), Richard Wiens (2003), Christine Domforth (2004), Michael Csoklich and Eva Pfisterer (2005), Renate Graber (2006), Helmut Gansterer (2007) and Michael Nikbakhsh (2008).

Enquiries: Bank Austria Press Office Austria
Martin Halama, Tel. +43 (0)  50505 - 52371
E-mail: martin.halama@unicreditgroup.at

Printable photos will be available  here for download starting at 12:00 pm on 27 May 2010. Reproduction free of charge.

 back to the summary