The new online banking of Bank Austria.


The online banking for companies.

olbImgAlt To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account
MegaCard GoGreen-youth account. The free MegaCard GoGreen-youth account for everyone from 10 to 20 years, and receive a welcome gift. To the MegaCard GoGreen-youth account

Michael Nikbakhsh receives the 2008 Horst Knapp Prize

Yesterday, Michael Nikbakhsh, who heads the economics department at the news magazine profil, was honoured with Bank Austria’s distinguished Horst Knapp Prize for his journalistic achievements in the past year. Anton Kolarik, Head of Identity & Communications at Bank Austria, presented the prize to Nikbakhsh. “Michael Nikbakhsh is without doubt one of the best economic journalists in Austria and it is hoped that he will continue to play a decisive role in shaping magazine and economic journalism in this country in the decades to come. His comprehensive knowledge and extensive understanding of economic issues as well as meticulous research ensure that his specialist commentaries, cover stories, columns and ironic commentaries are packed with facts and extremely easy to understand”, says Kolarik, explaining the jury’s decision.

The Horst Knapp prize includes a monetary award of EUR 6,000. The prize has been sponsored by Bank Austria on an annual basis since 1996 and is awarded to journalists by an independent jury headed by Erich Streißler, emeritus professor of economics at the University of Vienna, in remembrance of the doyen of Austrian economic journalism. The Horst Knapp prize recognises outstanding journalistic achievements that present complicated economic and socio-political issues in a clear manner that is easy for the average person to understand.

Michael Nikbakhsh (39), who was born in Stockerau of an Iranian father and an Austrian mother, initially studied medicine for a couple of terms after completing his final school examinations, switched to interpreting and finally ended up studying economics. While at university, he joined the Viennese editorial team at Salzburger Nachrichten in 1990. In 1995, he responded to an appeal by Christian Rainer and moved to WirtschaftsWoche. Following the closure of WirtschaftsWoche, he moved to Trend and subsequently to Format. Nikbakhsh was worked for profil since 1999 and has headed its economics department for the last five years.

The following journalists have been awarded the Horst Knapp Prize in the past:
Reinhard Göweil and Waltraud Langer (1996), Georg Wailand (1997) and Regina Forster (sponsorship award 1997), Michael Hann (1998), Liselotte Palme (1999), Andreas Schnauder (2000), Walter Sonnleitner (2001), Margarete Freisinger (2002), Richard Wiens (2003), Christine Domforth (2004), Michael Csoklich, Eva Pfisterer (2005), Renate Graber (2006) and Helmut Gansterer (2007).

Enquiries: Bank Austria Press Office Austria
Alexander Tröbinger, Tel. +43 (0)5 05 05 ext. 52809
E-Mail: alexander.troebinger@unicreditgroup.at


 back to the summary